Women Development Division


The Women’s Development Division (WDD) was created in January 2011 as a new division within the Ministry of Internal and Social Affairs. In October 2013, it became a division under the new Ministry for Women, Youth and Social Affairs (MWYSA).

Its main aim is to facilitate and promote women’s development and gender equality in Kiribati through an efficient and adequately resourced team within the Division. The WDD’s vision is to improve the status and livelihoods of women and girls in Kiribati through equal access to resources, opportunities, rights, services and their full participation in social, economic and political development.

Division's Main Responsibilities

The formal responsibilities of the Women’s Development Division are mandated and guided by various policies, National Action Plans and regional and international conventions signed by the Kiribati Government. This includes the Kiribati Development Plan, the draft National Gender Equality and Women’s Development (GEWD) Policy, the National Approach to Eliminating Sexual and Gender Based Violence in Kiribati (ESGBV) policy, the Pacific Leaders Declaration for Gender Equality, Beijing Platform for Action, the Sustainable Development Goals (SDG’s), the Convention on the Elimination of all forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW) and the Universal Periodic Review (UPR). One key legislation that WDD has been working on and will be implementing is the “Te Rau n te Mweenga”Act (Family Peace Act).

  • Development,implementation and monitoring Women and Gender Policies, Programmes and Laws

  • Seeking funds for Women/Gender programmes

  • Development and maintaining a data base for Women

  • Providing reports on Women/Gender

    Hosting national events such as International Women’s Day, White Ribbon Day and 16 Days of Activism

  • Providing technical support to Women Organisations and stakeholders- Training,Seeking financial support,etc

  • Coordinating body for Eliminating Sexual and Gender Based Violence programmes in Kiribati

  • Raising awareness on Women and Gender issues through workshops, IEC material, radio, community visits and consultations, road shows…



Anne Kautu - Principal Women’s Development Officer

Eera Teakai Baraniko - Senior Women’s Development Officer

Bairee Beniamina - Women’s Economic Empowerment Officer

Tekimwau Kanoua - Outer Island Liason Officer

Teata Wilson -  Domestic Violence Officer

Melinda Christopher - Safenet Support Officer

Tarota Bwebwetara - Senior GBV Prevention Officer

Teamita Baikuke - Finance Officer (SPV)

Karawa Areieta - Communication & Adaptation Officer (SPV)

Tarimwe Mitemwa  - Project Officer (SPV)

Bioua Tokaiti -  Project Officer (SPV)

Ruitiari Bauro -  Project Officer (SPV)

Katarina Intia -  Project Officer (SPV)

Teakonga Ioane -  Project Officer (SPV)